🎐

My new Notion

Today I will ramble about my Minimalist but robust notion system.

My Why

Throughout the years I've always been on the lookout for the perfect app to manage my life (more so my always overworked brain). There have been some close matches but it's never enough.

The past few weeks I've been getting into digital minimalism. Deleting games off my phone & moving those activities to my PC. Using the Minimal Homescreen widget to remove temptations from my phone. The hard part about it all has been my never ending yearning for an all in one solutions for my goals, habits, routines, & various todo's.

I'll be using my notion as a tool with this site allowing me to get things done privately before writing about my experience publicly. Hopefully that will make my posts about my findings high quality and helpful as my writing skills improve.

I refuse to continue searching. Let's finally use Notion.

The Directors room

This is the main page. The inspiration being I am the director of my life.

As you can see it's got a very simple intro & page directory with 4 categories. Goals, Plot Ideas, Todo, & Links.

IMG-0003

My goals page are sorted by other sub pages by weekly, monthly & yearly. The overall goals page help my progress in my various sub goals. Within those pages are even more pages (Somehow Russian doll pages just tickle my brain) where I keep track of how I am progressing in hopes of writing about it here later.

IMG-0011

That leads us to Plot Ideas. The Plot ideas page is organized into seasons for each year with "main plot points" a corresponding mood board & will possibly have up to 12 "episodes" per year. Kind of a New Year's resolution page better because I can reference my goals page and get into the nitty gritty.

IMG-0013

My todo page is incredibly simple. It is organized by importance & urgency. I can also reference to the all knowing goals page but I see myself more using this to remind myself of calls I need to make, the kids appointments & that l need to use the meat in the fridge.

The links page is a master list of different things I need to keep track of for my projects. Before now I’ve been using apple notes but the links are practically useless now because they have zero context. At least with general categories I can get the gist of what I’m looking at.

IMG-0014

I hope this inspired you to create a sustainable notion system. It doesn't need to be perfectly aesthetic. You can pick a cute banner if you want to. But what's really important is the function. In my personal experience in the past using the perfect aesthetic board I found on YouTube I was never able to use it for my needs because I didn't understand the systems in place & didn't have the time to learn them either. I'm definitely going to make it look pretty eventually one page at a time.